Poets logo

The Dream I Had

What happens when your dream reveals what your biggest regret will be.

By Remington LaynePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I thought last night I dreamt I died.

But I woke up with normality in my mind,

As the day wore on I felt something wasn’t right.

I just overthink though,

And all was fine in the morning,

Save for when we went to go get groceries

Because something peculiar caught in my periphery.

Golden radiation penetrated me full on through,

With an impassive gaze His words were short and true:

“I’ll be back at the end of the day to come and retrieve you.”

Skin burning yet soul cool,

With my green eyes slit and brows furrowed,

The new Flame in my neck brought my sight forward

I met the gaze peering down from that of His copper halo.

There was a sense of deja vu in the store,

I swore I had seen that man before

But I suddenly couldn’t think anymore.

My thoughts stopped, my heart warmed

My knees buckled, but my senses soared.

Faces looked at me, eyes confused with horror,

Saying, “Why do you have such a pale palor?”

With betrayer mirrors, I was turning pale & quickly,

Face gaunt, 20lbs gone, & this body withering,

I hear in my mind, “It’s not yet evening…”

Flame’s touch washed over my skin,

Pain engulfed each & every nerve with no remorse,

Why, caused by the pyre He set inside of me of course,

Fighting the urge to writhe, the Flame took my joints by force.

Condensation dripped down over my eyes,

As the heat inside was too much to bear for my mind,

Submerged in a tub of water where I finally felt free and fine

An evil red man spoke

A crimson sheen in my water came to be clear

I began wondering if I was actually meant to be here?

I began to have a thought..."I could be here for many more years."

I’m not going to put you in Hell, I’m going to put Hell in you.

Was the only message that I could get to come through.

It was all over and broken so what else could I do?

Everything. I had everything.

Why?!” He roared at me with what I heard eyes venomously pure

I shut mine, began to cry, because I was bound to only endure

Letting the Flame that paralyzed me occur…

The day I thought I'd die, It was about 4 o’clock

By the time my family decided to take me to the doc,

Despite flames taking my body I felt my soul an ice block,

They looked and looked and my chest got heavy and my head just shook

Fore I knew they’d never stop looking to fix what I had done.

It was in that moment, I had not felt love that strong,

It was now 4:45 and I knew I didn’t have long

Looking at the mirrors all around me

I sensed I would see them all again shortly,

So I smiled in their fear to encourage thoughts happy.

The world struck five o’clock.

I turned away to take a step in acceptance but in that split second

I felt my heart stab, palpitate as I heard Him beckon,

His figure lurked in the corner as I checked in,

It was Gabriel with his impassive stare,

But in his eyes was not only a glimpse of care,

But a light so full I relaxed and held his gaze fully aware,

“So, before you go through that door, what do you regret the most?”

With my hand on the smooth brass knob,

I began to look up, And managed to say with luck,

“Always wanting more and never thinking it was enough.”

So on the day I thought I was to merely die,

A twitch of the mouth on his face caught my eye,

And it turned the all knowing corners of his lips up high,

While His expression grew soft, He took my hand to guide with,

As I turned the knob to go through that white pure door,

I was struck with a final thought once more:

Gabriel didn’t have his horn.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Remington Layne

I've a passion for communication with a mission to help people understand key concepts in body language and speech using your favorite shows/movies to illustrate how you can better understand and be understood! Grab a snack and let's go!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.