Poets logo

The Dragon in Me

For the "Voices in the Minor" New year Challenge

By Hannah MoorePublished 5 months ago 1 min read
20

The dragon in me is the dragon in you,

And I seek out your eyes, like reflections do.

You tell me you've never come this far before,

I point to the mountains beyond your front door,

And you ask me if you could get hurt out there,

And I tell you that yes, it hurts when you care.

Then you pick up your quill, with tremulous claw,

You uncurl your tongue, and you loosen your jaw.

Then the fire spills forth and lights up the world,

And bathes it in beauty, a spectrum unfurled,

Which until now had roiled rough in your heart,

Just waiting for us to take courage and start.

For Fun
20

About the Creator

Hannah Moore

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon 5 months ago

    WOW! This is amazing! Simply brilliant!

  • Leslie Writes5 months ago

    I love this 💖 🐉

  • Paul Stewart5 months ago

    This is marvellous. as I don't do the Faceybook thing, almost missed this but properly stalked your profile to see what I might have missed! Love the pic!

  • Novel Allen5 months ago

    Whose challenge is voices in the minor. I am so lost. I love dragons, so independent and feisty. I too needed the courage of the dragons. Thank you.

  • Stephanie Hoogstad5 months ago

    That was beautiful, Hannah. It gives me a little more courage to keep writing, which I definitely needed today. Thank you for sharing this. 💜

  • Kalina Bethany5 months ago

    This made me smile as I imagined the scene you painted a picture of so clearly. Bravo!

  • Rachel Deeming5 months ago

    We are all dragons. I liked this a lot. Made me feel warm and optimistic.

  • L.C. Schäfer5 months ago

    Rhyming poems are the best, and the rhythm of this one is perfect, upbeat and hopeful ☺️

  • I can't tell you how much I liked this. Very well done Hannah. This poem really showed off your poetic skills.

  • "And I tell you that yes, it hurts when you care." This line is the ultimate truth! Sometimes I wish I would be able to not care at all but sadly, it ain't gonna happen. Loved your poem!

  • Realistically encouraging. Nicely done, Hannah.

  • D. J. Reddall5 months ago

    Provocative, inspiring and reminiscent of Tolkien: "It does not do to leave a live dragon out of your calculations, if you live near him [or her].”

  • Shirley Belk5 months ago

    How very encouraging!!!!

  • ROCK 5 months ago

    This made me smile! Cute little dragon you are!

  • Mother Combs5 months ago

    beautiful!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.