Poets logo

The Dragon Beside Me

An Acrostic Poem - Not an Entry

By KJ AartilaPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
4
The Dragon Beside Me
Photo by Martino Pietropoli on Unsplash

This poem is inspired by this challenge, but not an entry.

**********************************************************************

The shadow that follows me is the dragon beside me.

Her name is mine,

Etched upon my steadfast tongue.

*

During my younger years, I had many examples.

Rageful was the woman I most looked to; she could not control her fire,

As a result, I learned to control mine.

Gaining confidence and my sense of power

Over manipulation, I learned what love is -

Not what I was told it should be,

*

But beyond lip-service.

Everything changed then in my world.

Shadowed by the discovery of truth,

I set out to find my wings.

Deceit no longer held me captive,

Earning only my retreat.

*

Mythical magic in

Ethereal reality.

**********************************

Selfishly, but with a sense of purpose, I

Had a daughter.

Everything became a choice.

*

It all became clear.

She is

*

My reason for nurturing -

Epiphany.

***********************************

Thank you for reading!

surreal poetryAcrostic
4

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments

KJ Aartila is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.