Poets logo

The Dirty Pot

Collecting stories, one whoop at a time

By Heena KhanPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Stilfehler, CC BY-SA 3.0 <https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0>, via Wikimedia Commons

Your lovable potty pot

I am a dirty pot

All white, and often too hot!

I get cleaned often too

But I remain dirty more-often-than-not.

I look like a white egg left open

A God-send seat from the heavens

Kids of all age come to me strained

After they are toilet trained.

They sometimes sit for long, long hours

Dreaming of spaceships to Mars

Boys talk to me too

Of girls they wish to woo.

Girls come to me too

Talking random as they pee and poo

Sometimes when it gets too strained.

With a read they ease their pain.

I hear the flip of books, I hear the slippers flop

I hear the whir, I hear the drop

I am an insider to early morning crop

From the belly pain to what wracks the brain

I might be dirty, but a confidante all the same.

Often-times I am much in demand,

Collecting dirty bowels fresh from the farm,

A dozen kid line outside my doors

Shouting curses to their cousin on my floor

I get loved in the moment of pain

And I get hated for my stinking stains

And yet I am always part of their homely lives

A passage for the food as it flushes down my pipes

I dream a hygienic life

And yet, they neglect my plight

In their service, I am static and mute

Without questions, I collect their yellow pool

Sometimes, smearing my edges

How I hate it, how I dread it?

This is my plea to little people

To show mercy to me

in their next visit

to always wash thy seat

before withdrawing from my service.

I am an insider to your lows and highs

To your relieving smiles and painful cries

I love you, little people

Do not disown my stink and blot

When you find me dirty …?

Then make sure to not potty

Instead call your Moms and Dads

To make me spotless again.

Because my imperfections in the face of hygiene

Can make me Mr. Clean.

I am your lovable potty pot

Your morning bell and night slot

Come to me, little people

How I adore your lot!

childrens poetry
Like

About the Creator

Heena Khan

A pair of shoes laces beyond the grasp of the tangible.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.