Poets logo

The Devil is in the Details and so are the Fae

I kept this to myself for so long because I was too afraid you'd find it here.

By Rae JanneyPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

A fallen tree was found

lain across the fields outside my door.

In the tallgrass it slumbered.

Its bark bleached from the sun

and weathered smooth.

Someone carved from it a heart -

though I know not

how long it stood.

They branded abbreviations and made a wish

to carry their love to the stars.

I know not their names,

but these letters matched our own.

And but for a moment I felt the sun graze my cheek,

tilt my chin

and offer a kiss.

But there was something behind his smile I could not see.

I could not see, but I could feel.

A sign from the Universe

plagiarized!

by the Fae.

It came not on the wings of a song

or with tender hues.

It was a heart - my heart! - carved into a corpse.

Infested with insects

and roiling rot

How they mock me!

With a wish I never whispered,

but one I traced on your shoulder.

A promise we never made,

but one I swore when I kissed you goodbye.

Though my heart rested well within my chest,

I felt it bleeding -

beating within that rotting corpse,

carved by someone else's blade.

sad poetryheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Rae Janney

A Behavioral Neuroscience major with a passion for writing. My predominant writing style is surreal poetry, and most of my pieces touch upon mental health- TW included. My goal with my writing to end the stigma of mental illness.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.