Poets logo

the Desperation of a Forgetful Poet, in Search of a Pen.

As if she were..

By Ahmet F. IlhanPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

As if she were this poet's lost pen,

For whom I've foraged since early morning -

In desperate attempts,

Lest I forget,

What was to be said -

Underneath desks and amongst books,

And between the wrinkles of the divan.

I've searched for her

Anywhere and everywhere;

Amidst the sheets of the bed I've just made,

And in the bowl of treats I was afraid to take..

I've searched for her

In the pockets of the clothes I've seldom worn;

And inside rooms, into which I've never walked.

Beneath lows that barely exceeded my thighs..

And above heights that stood no short of I..

I've searched for her.

I've searched for her

Anywhere and everywhere..

In short,

Even in places she was unlikely to be..

And I think..

I think..

..

I'm a step closer to

Insanity.

The End.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Ahmet F. Ilhan

Scribbler of literary stories & hopeless poetry..

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.