Poets logo

The Desert's Call

A Journey of Survival and Choice

By Caxton Obeng DarkoPublished about a year ago 2 min read
Like

As I stand in the middle of the scorching desert, the heat beating down on me relentlessly, I can feel the thirst and hunger gnawing at my insides. My eyes scan the barren landscape, desperately searching for any signs of life or hope, but all I see is the never-ending expanse of sand and sky.

A voice inside me whispers that I should just give up and succumb to my fate, but another voice urges me to keep going, to never lose hope. Yet, as time passes and my condition worsens, I begin to realize that hope alone is not enough to save me.

I need to take action, to do something that's within my control. I need to choose a direction and start walking, even if it means leaving behind all that's familiar and comfortable.

The decision is not an easy one. I have no idea which way will lead me to safety, and every step I take is a gamble. But I know that I cannot stay still, waiting for a miracle to save me.

So, I steel myself and choose a direction, determined to put one foot in front of the other no matter what. The journey is tough, and every step feels like a struggle, but I keep going, pushing myself to keep moving forward.

The heat is unrelenting, and the thirst and hunger continue to gnaw at me, but I refuse to give up. I tell myself that every step I take is a step closer to safety, a step closer to survival.

As I keep walking, I begin to notice small signs of life, an occasional plant or a few scattered rocks. They give me hope and remind me that even in the midst of the harshest conditions, life can still flourish.

And finally, after what seems like an eternity, I see a glimmer of light in the distance, a sign of civilization. A wave of relief washes over me, and I feel a surge of energy that carries me through the final steps.

As I step into the oasis of civilization, I realize that I have made it through the toughest journey of my life. I survived the desert not because of hope alone, but because I chose to take action and keep moving forward, no matter how hard it got.

nature poetryinspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.