Poets logo

The Day You Left

A poem

By BurkPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
The Day You Left
Photo by Sam Moghadam Khamseh on Unsplash

The day you left this world behind,

My heart was filled with sorrow.

Our time together was cut short,

No guarantee of a tomorrow.

---

Your smile, your laugh, your warm embrace,

Are treasures I'll always keep.

The memories of you I hold close,

When I lay down to sleep.

---

I miss your voice, your caring ways,

Our talks that lasted for hours.

The void you left is hard to bear,

As time without you towers.

---

But one day we will meet again,

Our souls reunited above.

Your spirit lives on in my heart,

As I'm lifted by your love.

---

I'll cherish our moments together,

Until my own life is through.

Finding comfort that you're at peace,

And watching over me too.

love poemssad poetryheartbreak

About the Creator

Burk

Dad of 5.

Full-time writer from Germany.

Read more from me

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran9 months ago

    I know this was more for a human but I was thinking about my cat as I read this. Loved your poem!

  • Alex H Mittelman 9 months ago

    Sad but great poem!

BurkWritten by Burk

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.