Poets logo

The Day the Computer Died

A Poem About Technology

By Nicole Higginbotham-HoguePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
The Day the Computer Died
Photo by ETA+ on Unsplash

I pulled out old reliable

and pressed on the large key

the screen lit up blue

and I focused to see

the homepage came up

and I let out a sigh

little did I know

this was the day that my computer would die

I worked on my mouse

it caught on the screen

it locked up an icon

and I wanted to scream

I had so much work

that I hadn’t even began

so I moved the mouse rapidly

at least that was my plan

the mouse wouldn’t move

and the screen didn’t budge

I could feel my stress built up

I tried to hold my tongue

Maybe, I needed to be patient

and give it some grace

I waited a couple minutes

and untightened my face

I tried once again

to navigate through the machine

but it didn’t register my movements

and I knew what this would mean

I put my head in my hands

and took a long breath

I was going to have to buy a new computer

now that this computer was dead

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Nicole Higginbotham-Hogue

Nicole Higginbotham-Hogue is a lesfic author at amzn.to/36DFT2x. Sign-up for her newsletter at higginbothampublications.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.