Poets logo

The Day She Passed

This poem is about my Grandma and reflecting on her death years later. I loved her dearly.

By Amanda ZylstraPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like

It hit me when I was walking out of the building today after work.

Cold air around my neck and crunchy leaves under my shoes.

It was that time of year again.

The snow hasn’t come yet but it will soon and the holidays are approaching.

It was a night like this four years ago that I found out my Grandma had passed away.

In fact, I think today might even be the anniversary of her death.

She died the week before Thanksgiving and this is the week before Thanksgiving.

I saw many odd similarities today to the day that she died.

I was working in a customer service call center. surrounded by many people taking inbound calls.

I felt weird emotional like I wanted to cry but wasn’t sure why.

I was busy and overtime was in the air.

I felt detached from what I was doing.

Like someone else was in my body working and I was floating off somewhere in the clouds.

I smelled something that reminded me of her and only of her.

All of these things are true of today as well as the day she died.

The day she passed I remember driving home from work with the heat on low.

I was talking to my mom on the phone and I went through a dead zone near the two cemeteries that are across the street from each other on Leonard St. and we were both crying.

I know she passed years ago but that day is still fresh in my mind.

There are few people that have truly made a difference in my life and she was one of them.

She was very special to me and she was like a second mother.

I spent a lot of time with her when I was young.

We always had a special bond and she taught me many good things.

I can’t help but cry today.

It makes me sad that she will never be able to meet my son and that he will grow up visiting her grave and not her house. She always loved children and I know she would have loved him.

I guess that is how you know when someone has truly made a difference in your life.

When they have been dead for years and you still mourn over them.

When you know in your soul you will miss them forever,

And no one can ever replace them in your life.

Rest in Peace Grandma

*

This poem is featured in the poetry collection Passing Skeletons.

Available now on Amazon!

Check out my Author Page on Facebook!

Check out my Poetry!

Check out my Music Articles!

Check out my Beauty Articles!

Check out my Makeup Articles!

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Amanda Zylstra

Cat Lover, Poetry Writer, Tea Drinker, Skincare and Beauty Product Obsessed. Check out my poetry collection "Passing Skeletons" available on Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.