Poets logo

The Day my Life Began

It was love at first sight

By Gerald HolmesPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
12
Photo by Gabby Orcutt On Unsplash

I remember so clearly, all the scents and sounds

All the fear and anticipation, awaiting your arrival

People rushing by, several wearing gowns

Heightened my senses, my feelings were primal

***

Anxiety rose quickly as our first meeting drew near

Nervous feet tapping rhythm, as the clock passed eight

I stared at the door, my heart filled with fear

As the hands on that clock, said you were late

***

Questions sought answers in my worried haze

Would I be the man, the one you deserved?

Could I give all you need, the rest of your days?

Your love for me, would have to be earned

***

I’d been speaking to you, for months, everyday

Telling my truth and even singing you to sleep

But this was different; there was nothing in our way

Face to face for the first time, we would meet

***

Someone came and got me, I don’t remember who

They took me to meet you, my legs feeling weak

My fears went away quickly, when my eyes found you

Your beauty overwhelmed me, words I couldn’t speak.

***

I walked towards you, with the future in my mind

My love growing stronger as you accepted my arms

I held you close, feeling your heart next to mine

Knowing the rest of my life, I’d protect you from harm

***

It was a cold winter day, when my true life began

The first time I saw you, my soul was made right

The first day I held, my daughter in my hands

Was the day I believed, in Love at First Sight.

Photo by Author.

love poems
12

About the Creator

Gerald Holmes

Born on the east coast of Canada. Travelled the world for my job and discovered that kindness is the most attractive feature in any human.

R.I.P. Tom Brad. Please click here to be moved by his stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.