Poets logo

The Darkness

A poem by Earica R. Parrish

By Earica (EP) ParrishPublished about a year ago Updated 12 months ago 1 min read
2

At night

I come alive

as the streetlights

creep their way through

my living room blinds

I unwind.

Photo taken by Earica R. Parrish, 2023

What is time

when it’s borrowed?

These hours are known

to welcome sorrow

into my bed to sleep

I weep no more

my clothes drop to the floor

as I dance around my room

Bare

Aware

As intimacy fills my space

and heart

with ease

I’m pleased with the fact

That the night has embraced me

as its very own.

2022 ⓒ All Rights Reserved

--

I am a creative multi-hyphenate with a strong passion for the arts. To check out more of my journey and the different art exhibits and events I go to in real-time, follow me on Instagram at @erparrish_

If you would like to read more of my poetry and prose, as well as see some of my visual photography all in one place follow me on Instagram at @wordsbyep_

sad poetryinspirational
2

About the Creator

Earica (EP) Parrish

Maneuvering through life with purpose and integrity, hoping to leave a meaningful impact on others✨

IG: @erparrish_ ⚡ www.erparrish.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER12 months ago

    "Multi-hyphenate," yes, I can see that. You are rich.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.