Poets logo

The Dark

From my "Poems from the heart" collection.

By Addison H.Published 3 years ago 1 min read
1
The Dark
Photo by Jason Blackeye on Unsplash

The Dark

There is darkness within us all

We obscure it from view

Strive to hide the shadows call

Work to change its hideous hue.

Deep down we know it's there

Lurking, hiding, ready for war

Behind hidden eyes and an empty stare

Our heartless inner tormentor.

We find peace in hiding ourselves

Ignoring temptations of shadowed thought

We bury them high on dusty shelves

After battles raged and wars we've fought

These thoughts don't abide

They do what they want

My will they have defied

Their promises, they haunt

Why does the darkness hurt ?

Why does it fight me ?

It tells me I am dirt

It does this freely

So here i will wallow

Alone in the darkness

Thinking I am hollow

Sick and thoughtless.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Addison H.

I'm still very new to writing, but it fills me with joy to be able to express myself. It brings me even more joy to be able to bring my work to others. I'm very appreciative of my readers.

Happy reading

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.