Poets logo

The Dance

of a Winter's treat

By Sheila L. ChingwaPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
5
The Dance
Photo by Daniel Born on Unsplash

Smooth move,

of my hand

dropped a cold

solid, piece of

water into

my grandchild's

hot chocolate

******

Heat of the sweet

consumes the solid

swirls of water

flow from

the waning cube

dancing together

between hot and cold

in a tangled flurried twirl

*******

the plunge of

a spoon

a gentle twirl

sends the eternal

dance of hot and cold

mingling molecules

of the sweetened

coco and the

rigid clear cube

******

my eyes watch

as the hot

sloths away

the rigid water

to greet it

consumes it

to cool its

overly tempered

state inside

the Christmas mug

******

Less than a minute

the dance

between

the hot and cold

tangle together

in a whirlwind

dance

*******

A sliver

of solid

surrenders

its rigid ways

to become

a part of

the whole

sweetness

of chocolate

******

Grandma's finger

swirls the smooth

brown sweet treat

to see

if it's ready

to become

her grandbabies

cold weather treat.

Holiday
5

About the Creator

Sheila L. Chingwa

Welcome to my world.

Welcome to my thoughts.

I am proud to be a Native American Elder born and raised in Northern Michigan. Thanks to my hard work I have a B.A. in Education and a Masters in Administration and Supervision in Education.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    Omgggg! I'm soooo amazed at how creative and clever this is! I loved the dance between the hot and the cold!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.