Poets logo

The Dance

A Poem

By Atomic HistorianPublished about a year ago 1 min read
12
Photo credit Ashley Suszczynski @maskedtraditions. Please check out her work.

Once we were wild

In the temple of the forest we filed

The hum-di-dum-dum of the drum

Filled the air

As the moonlight glare

Filled the space

Between the snare

All dressed in their finest flare

For the affair

Stones, shells, herbs, flowers and feathers

Intertwined in our hair

Not a care amongst us

Nothing to shame us

We were blameless

And forgotten

On the edge of the world

We were fine

And happy

Collecting the resin of the sapling

No need for conquest

But then they came

Friends. Romans. Men of countries.

They came

Telling us to bend the knee

For the cross

Now we are lost

Disconnected from nature

Disconnected from our brothers and sisters

That still dance

In the freedom and joy

Of unconquered souls

Thank you for reading my work. If you enjoyed this story, there’s more below. Please hit the like and subscribe button, you can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram @AtomicHistorian, and if you want to help me create more content, please consider leaving a tip or become a pledged subscriber.

Special thanks to Ashley Suszczynski at @maskedtraditions on Instagram

More from this author:

vintagesurreal poetrysocial commentaryslam poetrysad poetryperformance poetrynature poetrylove poemslistinspirationalhow toheartbreakfact or fictionexcerptschildrens poetrycelebritiesbuyers guidebook reviewsart
12

About the Creator

Atomic Historian

Heavily irradiated historian developing my writing career. You can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, & Instagram. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Gina C.about a year ago

    This is excellent 😍😍

  • Thavien Yliasterabout a year ago

    I like this one, and the picture in the beginning of the thumbnail gives me an eerie feeling. However, it's not the person in the skull that I should've worried about for the eerie feeling, as Your poem states it's the "Friends. Romans. Men of countries." I felt like I just read about an entire culture's subjugation as they were wrongfully stripped of their culture. Well done. I too wish to be more connected with nature than what we have as of today, but that our stubbornness refuses us to search for better ways to remain connected as how we should be. Besides that the only gripe I have about this is that You literally use every tag under poets for this. I get it, it fits under more than one category, but placing it underneath all of them sort of seems to undermine the message, the theme, of Your poem and even what other poem communities do. Maybe I'm just not seeing why it fits in every Poets community tag, but that's my two cents.

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Wonderful 🙂

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Excellent piece. Well done.

  • Love the image of this excellent dark piece

  • Leslie Writesabout a year ago

    We are lost. This is a great piece. Well done.

  • Ahna Lewisabout a year ago

    Well done! I love how this so eloquently shows the speaker's world being upended by the conquerers.

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Love this!!! Well done!!!💖💖💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.