Poets logo

The Cost of a Dime

Family heirlooms from a WWII internment camp

By Alison McBainPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
Photo by author. The wedding band my grandpa made for my grandma out of a dime.

No jewelers there

she told us and laughed,

a hard, foreign sound

to granddaughters who'd never heard

of camp and internment

in state school elementaries.

*

Against her curled palm

the circle made from a dime

tarnished and thin,

her fingers too swollen now

to wear the broken band

my grandfather made decades ago

with a hammer,

a nail and a coin.

*

When they released families

from barbed wire fences, she said,

warehouses had been ransacked by thieves,

a history destroyed for scapegoats.

Squatters had taken

over houses and doors,

and our culture needed years

to rebuild homes and hearths

torn up by neighbors

pretending to follow laws.

*

When she died

my mother got the good pearls,

my sister her jade necklace--

they wore them

to the Buddhist temple

where we burned incense

and cried together.

*

But I inherited

my grandmother's palm,

the thinness of the band across it

like our family's war-tarnished name.

My fingers are too big for the ring

but I can hold history in my mouth

as my daughters listen

to the cadence of camp stories I tell them

passed down from my grandmother

about the value

and reason

for a dime.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Alison McBain

Alison McBain writes fiction & poetry, edits & reviews books, and pens a webcomic called “Toddler Times.” In her free time, she drinks gallons of coffee & pretends to be a pool shark at her local pub. More: http://www.alisonmcbain.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Claire Jones11 months ago

    Beautiful story

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.