Poets logo

The Cosmic Corsair

Extraterrestrial Challenge

By Kayleigh Fraser ✨Published 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 2 min read
15

it was pretty darn obvious where to take

this alien who landed here by mistake,

only one place made sense to me

so we journeyed together across the red sea,

.

but the sailing was tough on the poor wee scruff

he was violently sick as the waves grew rough,

the sky turned black and lightning cracked,

I told him “pal, there’s nae turnin’ back”

.

but he managed somehow to find his sea legs

and he stopped throwing up what looked like raw eggs

just in time for the sail to snap

and fall on his head with an almighty whack,

.

he looked a bit shocked but he held his own

until he began shouting “ET phone home!”

I tried my best to calm him down

but then I realised we might actually drown

.

the water was up to my ankles in height

and my alien pal looked an awful fright

and the thing about Scots when we’re in a tight pickle

is that we usually begin to uncontrollably giggle

.

the laughter flowed as loud as the storm

and by now ET really wasn’t in good form

he looked at me angry as can be

rueing my persuasion to travel by sea

.

the waves smashed against his poor wee face

and it seemed like this trip was a massive mistake

as he clung to me frozen in fear

he screamed again “Get me out of here!”

.

the water by now was up to my knee

and I realised it really was time to flee

“Alien, pal, can ye swim?”

he looked straight at me and his expression was dim

.

Feck, I really didn’t know what to do

I could swim for me but not for two

this storm was as wild as it gets

and clearly he was filled with regrets

.

but suddenly everything grew calm

the wind stopped and he let go of my arm

still laughing I joked “well wasn’t that fun?”

he just stared violently in return

.

my Scottish humour was seen as a vice

as he tapped some button on his mobile device

within a flash his shuttle appeared

and he left without even saying cheers

.

pretty darn rude if you’re asking me

to not say thanks for his trip to Sea

he got back in his craft and flew away

I guess we’ll have to show him the pyramids another day

humor
15

About the Creator

Kayleigh Fraser ✨

philosopher, alchemist, writer & poet with a spirit of fire & passion for all things health & love related 💫

“When life gives you lemons,

Know you are asking for them.

If you want oranges, focus on oranges”

🍊🍋💥🍋🍊

INSTAGRAM - kayzfraser

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    Bloody hilarious and charming! Loved the Scottish slant you gave this and the rhymes and flow made it so much fun to read! This would be a pure belter tae record! pure dead brilliant!

  • That was really good Kayleigh. The rhythm of your words and the clever rhymes are great. Good humorous piece. Great job!!!

  • Lol, poor guy. You scared the living daylights out of him! 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 This was so hilarious because I imagined the alien as my best and you as me. How that alien felt at the end is always how my best friend would feel after some of the dumb shits that I pull 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    This is an impressive mix of humor and brilliant meter and rhyme. Well done! I felt I was there with "you" and the alien, and I really did feel for his plight. Wonderful ending, btw. There's many a theory about those pyramids, eh? I wonder what the alien could have told you about them, had he not gotten so sick (the image of the raw eggs was quite disgusting, btw, lol!).

  • Addison M8 months ago

    That was great! Light hearted and humorous, a nice little jaunt. In my head I sung it as a sea shanty while I read it since it rhymed so well. Excellent work!

  • Brin J.8 months ago

    Raw eggs?🤢 Lol omg this was insane, chaotic, and absolutely hilarious. "Pretty darn rude if you're asking me" had me in stitches! These aliens we're trying to be nice to are so ungrateful! 🤣

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    Great take on the prompt. Love it

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    This was such an adventure you and the alien went on ❤️

  • Donna Renee8 months ago

    Hilarious, Kayleigh 🤣🤣🤣 the poor wee alien isn’t likely to sail with you again hahah

  • Test8 months ago

    This had me laughing out loud! Loved the scottishness and the poss sea sick alien! Brillianltly witty and throughly enjoyed reading -Thank you! 🤍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.