Poets logo

The continuing Journey

Fractured as I am

By Katie Published 4 months ago 1 min read
3
The continuing Journey
Photo by HARALD PLIESSNIG on Unsplash

It has been a journey. My journey.

A journey of learning, of growing, of self acceptance.

A long journey, fraught with setbacks and needless shame.

A journey of decades.

Decades spent hiding, trying to deny what should never have been denied.

A journey I would most likely travel, somewhat differently, were I to somehow be given the chance.

So as I begin another journey, tomorrow’s journey, I will not repeat the mistakes of the past. Regardless of the discomfort, that I’m sure I’ll have to endure.

Regardless of the uncertainty, of both my decisions and my courage, to continue.

Few, would choose the path that presents itself to me. For me, there is no choice, as others do believe. Yes, I could choose, to not walk this path. Living instead a diminished life.

Passing my days as a cardboard cutout. With no depth, and muted feelings, just a prop in someone else’s life.

inspirational
3

About the Creator

Katie

Really just an amateur trying my hand at this.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • k eleanor4 months ago

    Beautifully penned! Loved your poem!

  • "Passing my days as a cardboard cutout. With no depth, and muted feelings, just a prop in someone else’s life." That line hit me so hard because sometimes, that's what we are and where we stand in some people's lives.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.