Poets logo

Eroding away

My will

By Katie Published 4 months ago 1 min read
2
Eroding away
Photo by Rebecca Elliott on Unsplash

I dissolve.

Like a sand castle pulled back to the sea, disappearing with every wave, I am vanishing.

Though I stand before you as always, what I could have become is eroding away. Leaving behind a indistinguishable golem, an automation of clay.

I can feel the pull, slight as it is. Reducing me, seducing me, into not trying.

Giving in to the lure of settling, for less.

Swiping left, whatever chance I may have had, to achieve the unachievable.

I asked for little, you gave me less.

My dream for me was not your dream.

So now you are the tide that rolls over my weak sand castle wall.

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Katie

Really just an amateur trying my hand at this.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran4 months ago

    "I asked for little, you gave me less." Gosh that line hit me so hard. Loved your poignant poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.