Poets logo

The Concrete Calls My Name

A poem about homelessness

By Naya LizardoPublished about a year ago 2 min read
Like
A hard unyielding bed, the concrete calls my name. — Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

My hopes, my dreams, I cannot keep,

With no home, I cannot sleep.

My future, a rambling mystery,

A wanderer, without a home, I will be.

///

No one to help, no one to see,

Just a homeless soul in misery.

A future that’s so hard to see,

My home, a distant memory.

///

I wander the streets with no place to go,

Searching for a place to call my own.

The concrete calls my name,

A hard and unyielding bed.

///

The stars shine brightly on my face,

But I’m still without a place.

My heart is heavy with my disgrace,

I’m lost in an empty space.

///

A home is something we all seek,

But I, a wanderer, so meek.

Have no place to call my own,

No place to rest my weary bones.

///

No choice but to sleep on concrete,

No one to care, no one to heed.

The world turns its back so discrete,

And leaves me in the dark to bleed.

///

There’s no one here to hear me scream,

A figure lost in a sea of dreams.

My fragile body and broken wings,

A silent plea that no one brings.

///

The streetlights shine upon my face,

A reminder of my empty space.

A world of injustice and despair,

As I struggle to make it there.

///

I have no home to call my own,

No shelter from the chill of the unknown.

The cold winds of night,

Leave me without a light.

///

The concrete calls my name,

A reminder of strength and no one to blame.

A hard and unyielding bed,

It’s here that I must stay and forge ahead.

///

No one to hear my silent plea,

No hope of a better destiny.

The night brings a cold and bitter breeze,

As I lay on this hard concrete.

///

My empty stomach cries out in vain,

For a taste of something more than pain.

But I’m too tired to meet the strain,

For I am without a home.

///

A poem by Naya Lizardo

Photo by Matt Collamer on Unsplash

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Naya Lizardo

Travel addict, writer, knowledge enthusiast and poetry dabbler. I write about relationships, mental health, and social issues.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.