Poets logo

The column

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
10
The Broken Column Painting by Frida Kahlo

I was dreaming feverishly as the column divides me

Pain that shoots and runs and tosses

We cut ourselves open

For our wombs to remain whole

I feel the column slicing my brain apart

My baby is protected by my heart(and lungs and mouth and legs).

I dreamed I was being photographed

As an artist,

My masculine hair was growing in

I love to think I looked like Frida Kahlo,

As I felt my column jolt through

As Matthew and Melissa

As myself and my beginning

My mirror was balanced,

Not askew.

But I’m awake all night, every night

With this seething column

gnawing at my fingertips and biting at my forehead

Like little rats

Pretending to only take a nibble,

The pain of being two instead of one

A holy love of God,

Red-blue ghost submarines into my brain

Coughing out sane lullabies

At my gnawed ears,

And I am feeding my column

To be given new life

To give new life.

heartbreak
10

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Gina C.5 months ago

    So powerful and visual - your poems entrance me 😍

  • Images of the exquisite agony of giving birth--whether to a child, an idea, or something else--as our hearts, bodies, minds & souls are rent asunder.

  • This was so intense and poignant. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • k eleanor5 months ago

    It's a powerful exploration of the intricacies of existence. BEAUTIFUL AND HEARTBREAKING!

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Heartbreaking!!!

  • K. Wisendanger 5 months ago

    Submarines into my brain- love that line. Very compelling

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.