Poets logo

The Colour White

From the mother of a gay child in India

By meenuPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
6
You love because you are love

Mama I want to love

I want to live

I want to have babies

I want to have a family

Like us.

My baby’s cry of anguish

Was his answer

To my question

Why can’t you stop

Letting your imagination

run wild

And be normal

You think I wouldn’t

If I could?

I want it more than

anything else in the world

Mama I want to love

I want to live

I want to have babies

I want to have a family

Like us.

But I can’t. I have to bear my cross.

You know my name adds up

To the colour black

To the number of suffering

The number of Jesus Christ.

I am doomed mama.

Or am I?

What if i change the spelling

Of my name, and

The number I choose

Adds up to the colour white.

Remember you

Once told me

White is not

no colour.

But a hidden rainbow.

Each colour

With a beauty of

Its own.

You see

Mama I want to love

I want to live

I want to have babies

I want to have a family

Like us.

The knife twisted

Deep inside

The rib cage

The heart pulsated

The blood

Gushed out.

Yes my love

You own the black

Like you will own

The white.

You will own it

And celebrate it

The vibrant rainbow

Hidden in the

Vastness of white.

Peaceful, flowing

Growing organically

The way it was

Meant to be.

Because my son

You live because you have life

You love because you are love

You fill all the colours you want

To create

The white light

Because the brush is

In your hands.

Yes my love

You will have babies

You will have a family.

Just like us.

You know why?

Because

Your name will add up

To the colour white.

And no one will ever

Challenge that

You live because you have life

You love because you are love



inspirational
6

About the Creator

meenu

A writer , a storyteller, and an editor, Meenu has been playing with words ever since she can remember. Deeply interested in observing people, cultures and history, she enjoys exploring them in her writings for magazines and film scripts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.