Poets logo

The color of Love

by Ashlee Lusch

By A. LuschPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2

Could I prescribe a color to summer love?

Discovery and steam

Love at first sight

Instant soul recognition

Instinct says RED; symbolic of blood, love, the life force of the racing heart.

What about blue, the deep color of her eyes?

But her eyes AREN’T blue; they are a color that I still cannot describe.

Burning sandalwood sets the mood.

The way she walks right in front of me should be a crime.

The floral pink fabric of her dress flows with the breeze, hanging off her shoulders.

Sun-kissed.

I’ve known her before, just not in this lifetime.

She makes me question everything.

She beholds certain magic.

Some would call it witchcraft or maybe alchemy.

I wonder if the combination of our collision brings all the colors of the spectrum together

All at once and impossible to describe.

I’ve never felt anything like this, and I don’t know how to survive.

But now that I know it exists, I can’t stop. I can’t go back.

This is it, and if not, whatever is it must be better.

I keep moving on, not letting fear creep in.

Fear is the only thing holding me back from all of those colors with all of those feelings, all at once.

love poems
2

About the Creator

A. Lusch

Non-Binary author

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Serenity Nyx12 months ago

    Depth!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.