Poets logo

The Color Black

Journey Of Becoming

By MPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

The overwhelming fear of failure crushes me

It suffocates me

Sending me spinning in constant anxiety

The future I yearn for

Is questionable

The dreams I exist of

Threatened

By mass destruction

The normal paths that bore many

Fight to take ahold of me

To distort my visions

And yet I continue to dream in black

It’s mysterious power allures me

It keeps me coming

Until it can hold me down

Keeping me soaking

Within my foolish dark pool of hope

I long to break out of the black

And into something real

But the unknown terrifies me

The urge to create is all-powerful

The characters inside of me pound on the wall of my subconscious

As they are captured and held within

Wanting to be heard

Wanting to be on a page

Wanting readers to behold them

They plead

Beg me to be set free

Into the harsh reality

Of the pressuring colorful world

There mass clouded sorrow cries out to me

Assuring me

It’s the creativity in me

That makes me unique

When I listen

When I write

I can start to see a faint light

But this darkness always crawls back

Creeping into my world from behind

Barring a substantial weight

Wailing to take over

Reaching out

With desperate snatching hands

To try and help me

To reach my dreams realistically

That lightness that I see

Was and is my innocent ignorance

The evilness of it’s potent potential

Brought into the now reality

No longer praying on my eagerness

Dimmed once again

By me

By the screaming noise of those around

Discouraging me back into my color of blackness

Away from the doubtful world

Where my dream of writing

Can finally be

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

M

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.