Poets logo

The Cockatoo and the Adoptee

From "Delta"

By Gene LassPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Art by Jennifer Paige Davis

I watch a video of a white bird

Whose owner left him on his perch

With a camera running

The bird has been screaming

For 7 ½ hours

Because he’s alone 

If he doesn’t have company

He’ll tear his feathers out

Or possibly die

It’s what those birds do

And the owner knew it.

As a child I felt the same

I don’t remember my birth mother leaving me

Not consciously

I was only 6 days old

But I remember many nights

Being put to bed

Lying alone

Staring out my open door

Mom would tuck me in

And say she’d check on me

When she went to bed at 10:30

I’d stare at the door

And wait to sleep

Wait for the goodnight kiss

That would make everything all right

It usually never came

So I’d stare and listen

Sometimes I’d call downstairs

To remind her of the time

I eventually stopped asking

And started resenting

Promises made for a simple thing

Never kept

Something important

Never granted

I watch the video of the bird

And I see my younger self

Staring at the door

(1/29/20-1/30/20)

art
Like

About the Creator

Gene Lass

Gene Lass is a professional writer, writing and editing numerous books of non-fiction, poetry, and fiction. Several have been Top 100 Amazon Best Sellers. His short story, “Fence Sitter” was nominated for Best of the Net 2020.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.