Poets logo

Heroes

previously published in KSquare

By Gene LassPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

July 4, 2013

I sat in my work room, writing

I took a break

To play and post some music

I played it quietly because

Down the hall, in his room,

The Boy, overstimulated from the fireworks earlier

Was winding down, reading.

He would often complain if I played music

But he had started to like it

And I was in the holiday spirit.

I played Ray Charles’ “America the Beautiful”

Hendrix’ “Star Spangled Banner” from Woodstock

Then Bowie singing Simon and Garfunkel’s

“America” and his own “Heroes”

At The Concert for New York City.

All three performers sent chills up my spine

The way they always do, then suddenly

The Boy’s voice came down the hall

“What was that?”

I froze, caught like a naughty child.

“David Bowie.”

“David Bowie?”

“Yeah.”

“What was the song?”

“Heroes.”

“Heroes?”

“Yeah.”

There was a pause,

Then, one of the rarest things to hear

A 12-year old say to his parent:

“It was cool.”

I smiled and went downstairs to tell my wife.

While I was down there, I heard “Heroes”

Drift down quietly from his tablet upstairs.

That January, The Boy was gone.

Two years later to the day

The Starman joined him

And The Boy taught him to fly.

(5/11/19)

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Gene Lass

Gene Lass is a professional writer, writing and editing numerous books of non-fiction, poetry, and fiction. Several have been Top 100 Amazon Best Sellers. His short story, “Fence Sitter” was nominated for Best of the Net 2020.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Charlene Ann Mildred Barrogaabout a month ago

    This piece serves as a poignant reminder of the little but deep relationships we create, as well as how moments of shared appreciation may stay long after they have passed.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.