Poets logo

The Chase

the end, or just a dream, not always as it seems

By Sue DenimPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Beat. Drum. Heart.

Jump StartQuiet...

Still death drawing,

Etching near-

night, day fear

sitting, still here...

Trees- each branch a dagger

Breathing stagger

Uneven pace

Each footstep trace

Heaven's grace

Hiding, humming, singing, breathing

Chest- high heaving

Heat impeding,

FEAR stampeding

Courage- retreating

Heart still beating?

YES! so much louder than before

Like stomping on a hollow floor

My lungs cannot take anymore

My breathing- faster than before

No idea quite what's in store-

Shhhh....

Hear that?

'tat, Tat, TAt, TAT!

It's gaining- I am sure of that

But what, but who, what did I do?

what have I done?

The fun for it has just begun

I start to run

Is that lightning or the sun?

Pushing, moving leaves aside

Branches breaking with each stride

Time- oh time's not on my side!

But wait, oh wait, but just a thought

I meant my head, my legs I beg you not!

But could it, would it, can it be?

That this- is not reality?

This evil pitch, a darkened stream

Could it be but just a dream?

Screaming, crying- no! But wait I'm falling!

Calling!

Silence is breaking in the air

Engulfed by blackness is all that's there.

grabbling, reaching, and nothing around

the silence is screeching, raping sound

And I cannot but get a grip

My life, my soul begins to slip

Wake, oh wake, open these eyes

I cannot take these hushing, bleeding cries

...Below a low, dim lullaby

it whispers something of good-bye

It's echo drumming in my ears

then slowly...fading.... disappears....

art
Like

About the Creator

Sue Denim

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.