Poets logo

The Charlatan

Another "What Paul Did Instead of Finishing Works In Progress!"

By Paul StewartPublished about a year ago 1 min read
14
Created in NightCafe

If I was as good as I thought I was

Had a grain of the talent that others do

I'd feel quietly confident all the time

Not loudly uncertain and unsure all the time

Sometimes feel like I share in common

Traits with the magician and spirit medium

Charlatan sounds too grandiose

Chancer or hustler maybe?

Fraudster sounds too harsh

Delusional or pretender perhaps

But magicians and conjourers, card trick sleight of hand masters have merit

We know it's a con when the queen of hearts is gone

We know there's an illusion when the assistant has a body intrusion

The rabbit didn't appear out of thin air, there's definitely rigging in that chair

Does it really matter then if I'm not a typical poet?

What even nowadays is a typical poet?

I may not be Wordsworth, Keats, or Pound.

I'm not Poe, Thomas, Shaw, or Burns.

Too male to be Plaff, too white to be Angelou

Too modern to be Byron, Too progressive to be Kipling

Crazy enough to be Chaucer, crazy enough to be Joyce

But...does that matter?

I don't need to be like any of them

Unless I listen to my inner charlatan

*

Thank you for reading.

I had a spot of writer's block recently. Well...more...block to what I should be writing now. I think it was brought on by being ill.

Anyway, this is the result.

Hope you enjoyed it. Please feel free to leave a comment, click the heart or do both. All feedback and interactions are appreciated.

You can also subscribe too!

Other work you might enjoy includes:

You can also check out the rest of my work here.

inspirationalsurreal poetrysocial commentaryperformance poetry
14

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  5. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Poppy 8 months ago

    Great subtitle and awesome poem. Your poetry is lovely exactly as it is!

  • Addison M8 months ago

    Nailed it. I think so many of us relate to this more than we allow ourselves to admit. We'll done!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    I loved your word choices in this so much. The word nerd in me was overjoyed!! And you are uniquely and wonderfully you! No need to be anybody else. So well done :)

  • Dean F. Hardyabout a year ago

    Bums and chancers the lot of them ;)

  • Your trail of thoughts are awesome! Enjoyed reading this!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    This is great, and so are you.

  • Swede1972about a year ago

    Nice poem. Doesn't really matter if you're as good as others, just do your thing and the chips will fall as they will.

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    I’m so glad you’re back! Thank you for this poem and your thoughts ❤️ I feel so many of the same things ❤️ You are a wonderful poet and writer. I truly enjoy your work! ❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.