Poets logo

THE CAT

By Beate CarlsenPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
1
THE CAT
Photo by Alexis Chloe on Unsplash

She is not allowed in. The dog is. He is tiny, black and white and he is not allowed to bark. As soon as he lets out one high pitched WOOF, everyone in the house storms out, reprimands him, catches him, takes him into their arms and carries him inside.

They seem to have forgotten they ever wanted a cat. Not that they don’t feed her, they do of course. The cat knows that she belongs to this house, she has no doubt. Last spring, I watched her trying. Whenever the wooden French doors opened and one of them stepped out onto the terrace, she observed. In auspicious moments, she ran. I held my breath. It took never more than half a minute before she was put back onto the grass.

Today she sat again on the sunny spot directly in front of the glass door. She sits on top of the doormat. I guess that adds warmth from underneath, now at the end of October. She never tries any longer – to get inside I mean. Even if they air out downstairs – she knows her place.

I should'nt watch her. But she is right there - between us only the neighbor’s fence, a strip of lawn, the terrace. I see her so clearly. She never goes far. Just walks close circles around the house.

It hurts us to see the other cats, so sure of themselves.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Beate Carlsen

those are my legs, in summer, on my green couch. I have my legs up while reading and writing as well. So you could say, this is a typical and characteristic pic of me...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Catherine Leichtenberger11 months ago

    As a lifelong cat person, that was all sorts of heartbreaking!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.