Poets logo

The Caring Wife, Mum, and Grandma

Where My Heart Belongs

By Carol TownendPublished 14 days ago 1 min read
7
The Caring Wife, Mum, and Grandma
Photo by Documerica on Unsplash

Washing, ironing, cooking cleaning.

I get fed up, but I don't hate doing it;

Polishing, scrubbing, vacuuming, tidying,

Always good to look after those I love.

Have a break; watch some television,

then to do the washing.

My husband's asks me,

"Do you need any help?"

I say, "I'm fine," because I know

he is unwell.

On those days when he is well,

He joins in and does chores, too;

He was there for me when I was ill,

And now, it's time for me to be there as well.

My grandkids scream in the room next door,

I smile and give time to help my daughter;

When I enter her room,

Laughter greets me around the corner!

Sometimes, it feels like my life never stops,

But love is giving as much as receiving;

So please remember, when those chores get too much,

Take pleasure in knowing you are much loved,

For sharing is caring, but some days all we do is care,

But grandma, mum, and wife are our names,

One day, we will need them as much as they need us;

But they need us every day,

And being caring has no shame.

social commentarylove poemsinspirationalGratitudeFree VerseFamily
7

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen13 days ago

    Ah yes. The never ending story of the spinning cycle of life. This is such an honest assessment of the things which really matter, and how thankful we shuld be for the blessings.

  • Andrea Corwin 14 days ago

    Truth! Nice job in describing lots of things done to care for others because one wants to.

  • Mariann Carroll14 days ago

    Beautiful and heartwarming ♥️

  • It is a great tribute for our women's community!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.