Poets logo

The cards called you here

Prepared your coming for months

By Mingling with the Moon Published 2 years ago 1 min read
1

When you arrive

My curls will smell lovely

And I will prepare the best bounce just for you

I won’t smell like tobacco anymore

And I’ll taste better than I did before

Remember how you loved that taste?

I hope next time it’s even sweeter, the most satisfying that I can serve

Generous, longer lasting

Spice up your night life, like you deserve

And upon your re-arrival there’ll be flowers

To celebrate your coming, of course

And we’ll shed the petals in the bathtub

And wade together in the water as she whispers,

With a delightful cheek I am sure, to the tap or the basin, or whichever orifice is listening really: instructing them: ‘drip a bit!

Let them laugh. Be warm, be childlike, flow and play; stay kind”

And we will laugh as they oblige

When you arrive, mingling with the moon

I will hold you in a hug

(and I may never want to let you go

— but I will)

But I will hold onto it, and breathe you in

I already know I will fall in love all over again,

I have waited for this for longer than I can remember

And yet may still never be prepared

I have met you many times before,

And the cards have told me of your coming

(And of your going, when you arrive)

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Mingling with the Moon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.