Poets logo

The Canadian National Anthem

(Alternative Version)

By Kendall Defoe Published 12 months ago 1 min read
Oh...Canada...!

Note: I am not sure why I forgot to post this on my country's birthday, but here it is now. I have continued with a particular theme... - KD.

*

Oh, Cannabis!

So high on native land.

True patriot bud,

In all thy bongs’ command.

With glowing joints,

We see red eyes,

The true north strong with weed.

From far and wide,

Oh, Cannabis,

We have dime bags for thee.

Pot, keep our land,

Bodacious and free,

Oh, Cannabis,

We stand on guard for weed.

Oh, Cannabis,

We stand and guard our weed!

Let it wave!

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

inspirationalsocial commentaryperformance poetryhumor

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (14)

  • Novel Allen11 months ago

    Writing while high. That is what happens when you legalize pot. Awesome. Mail me some, it must be the good stuff. Rem i am from Jamaica, so I will know.

  • I hold this version in very high regard.

  • Real Poetic12 months ago

    Cracking up as I’m smoking on my weed! Lol great poem.

  • Rob Angeli12 months ago

    Really fun, thanks.

  • Sid Aaron Hirji12 months ago

    hahaha. This is wonderful. i think i may do a parody soon. Been occupied with assignments in school and work

  • Donna Fox (HKB)12 months ago

    Hah!!! This was fantastic Kendall!! I actually read/ sang it in my head to the tune of our anthem! This was so clever!! You are a word smith and this was such a great play on our anthem! I think I might like it better than our newest version that was introduced in the last couple years. 🍁 My only question is if you think this would sound as great in the bilingual/ French version?

  • Paul Stewart12 months ago

    This was brilliant, Kendall! Hilarious and even as a non-Canadian that doesn't know the lyrics to the national anthem very well, I still got it!

  • Gerald Holmes12 months ago

    I am Canadian and this was as funny as f**k!!!! Well done.

  • Hahahahahhahahahahaha this was hilarious!

  • Mackenzie Davis12 months ago

    Lol, I don't even know the Canadian ntl anthem that well (I know the melody) but this was hilarious, given my limited knowledge of the og lyrics. Well done, though; it works perfectly! "Oh Cannabis | we stand on guard for weed | Oh Cannabis | we stand and guard our weed." Love these last four lines; perfect. Sidenote: Why do I feel like "bodacious" was a missed opportunity for "budacious..."? 😝🙃💜

  • Naomi Gold12 months ago

    That’s my girl you’re talking about 🥰

  • Dana Stewart12 months ago

    Haha, oh cannabis!

  • Dana Crandell12 months ago

    Hilarious!

  • Babs Iverson12 months ago

    LoL!!! That was fun!!!♥️♥️💕

Kendall Defoe Written by Kendall Defoe

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.