Poets logo

The Call

A mother's heartbreak

By Ella DormanPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
21
The Call
Photo by Anthony Tran on Unsplash

Today I received the call,

The kind where it makes your heart drop.

I tried to stay strong.

I hadn't heard your name in so long.

I did not think it would pierce fear into my heart,

But it did.

I hadn't forgotten the day she told me what you did.

The tears streamed down my face,

As I watch the pain you have dealt her,

Entering her eyes.

They were once as bright blue as the ocean,

On a beautiful summer's day.

Now dull blue as if the innocence left her.

However, this call was more devastating.

By Matthias Kinsella on Unsplash

"Ma'am we need to talk." the man on the receiver said.

My heart dropped because I did not understand why a detective was calling me.

"He did it again and we would like to talk to you." he tried to say after he heard my voice crack.

At this point, I was in tears.

I knew what was about to be uttered into existence.

However, the words still shocked me,

And my worry was focused on the little girl,

The little girl who stole my heart with a simple smile.

By Jose Ibarra on Unsplash

"Not her." he assured me as he listened to my heart cry out.

Regardless of who,

My heart broke as I cried.

Do I go and testify against him,

And possibly have to drag in my fragile daughter?

Or do I say no because of the trauma this could cause?

I am trying...

Please see I am trying.

I dont know what to do.

Do I condemn a child to protect mine?

Or do I condemn mine to protect another?

By Vitolda Klein on Unsplash

sad poetry
21

About the Creator

Ella Dorman

I am a homeschooling mother of 5 by day and a college student and writer by night.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.