Poets logo

The Caged Flamingo

“Beauty and love are meant to be shared… Not caged.”

By AJ ThomasPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
The Caged Flamingo
Photo by David Hofmann on Unsplash

-Believe in yourself, Don’t let your mind tie your wings, Let go and fly-

Peering out of the narrow crevice,

I still feel the burn,

Of the tiniest glimmer of hope,

That shines inside of me,

Only I can see it,

Too meek to reveal to anyone,

Or expose my inner self,

Too shy to exhibit my purpose,

Or let anyone within reach of my splintered heart,

To gain insight into who I am,

To know me is to love me,

Closed off from the outside world,

The Bars are just to protect me,

Darkness is my friend,

It’s just to guard me,

So no one else could ever hurt me,

Blackened windows,

Are only for shelter,

To save me from myself,

Trust unto me, I got you,

I’ll never let you down,

No living soul could possibly comprehend,

Listen to me exclusively,

They don’t “get” you like I do,

Obliterate all doubters from your mind,

They are insensitive and irrelevant,

Only I understand you,

Everyone else will speak nothing but deception,

I’m the only one who will ever love you,

Admiration is my solitary intention,

How could they have a fondness of you?

I am your familiar,

Others have but an ill motive,

Set out to wound your imagination,

Nothing but a false perception,

Counterfactual illusion of my endeavors,

You kindred fool, Will you never learn?

You shall never achieve deliverance,

No wings you possess,

You will never fly,

Your dreams but mere fairy tales,

Fruitless and impotent,

Without me you are nothing,

Foolish and empty-headed,

With your mind in the sky,

You are dancing with fire,

Stagnant, without growth,

You will collapse and flounder,

Crash and burn,

Die old and unaccompanied,

In a shallow grave unknown,

I believed your web of fabrication, all of it,

Every last morsel you force-fed me,

Just to satisfy your desire to be superior,

The demand to be in control,

Pompous, egotistical,

Arrogant and Prideful,

I was oblivious, I dismissed the fact,

Still, you insisted on,

Denying me, Starving me,

Of what no one should ever be deprived,

One Day I will dance in the rain,

One Day I will feel the daybreak upon my flesh,

One Day I sing in the sunshine,

Crawl out of the deep abyss,

Muddled by the damp murky fog,

Enclosing my imagination,

That clouds my judgment,

That inhibits my creativity,

This pit of self-pity and despair,

That shackles me to my own imprisonment,

One Day I’ll find the key,

To unlock unbridled happiness and peace from within,

Break free from the chains that bind,

Bend the enclosure of,

The cage of my mind,

Unhinge the door,

Separate the bars of my heart,

They will give way and allow,

My love to flow freely without encumbrance,

I will escape your entrapment,

With my dreams,

My radical visions,

To decorate the ugly world by,

Painting the incandescent sky,

With my pretty words,

Dot the midnight sky,

With my colorful thoughts,

Like shining twinkling stars,

I will one day regain it all,

Remember who I was, who I am supposed to be,

On that day, I will proclaim my savage aspirations,

From the highest mountaintop,

Hurl the chains that keep me bound,

Which ensnare my darkest, daunting fears,

To the deepest depths of the ocean floor,

Relish in a breath of freedom,

No longer allowing them to intimidate me,

Inhibit me, or dominate my thinking,

But melancholy tears fall,

Like a pelting rainstorm,

As a frigid rush of reality,

Washes over me like a cold wave,

The icy bite of the bitter truth,

Snaps me out of my fallacious illusion,

That my life will ever be,

That I will never be anything more,

Than a wondrous majestic. caged. flamingo.

“No matter how ugly you feel on the inside, somebody somewhere believes you are astonishingly beautiful and wishes they were you.”

inspirational
1

About the Creator

AJ Thomas

Self proclaimed creator of literary masterpieces. Wife, mother of 3 teenagers, poet and aspiring author.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.