Poets logo

The Brown Mythos

It exists because we need it to.

By Sudipta QuabiliPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
The Brown Mythos
Photo by Isaac Quesada on Unsplash

Brown is not real.

It is one of the first lies we are told.

Earth tone crayons, wet-soil palettes.

We’ve always been coddled by deception.

Brown is an orange that spent too long feeling down.

It is a red-yellow that’s going through an edgy phase.

A light can shine red, orange, yellow, green, and that all-encompassing white.

But it cannot shine brown.

How, then, can I explain myself?

My brown hair, my brown eyes, my brown skin that burrows into the ground, feeling for brown bones, brown roots, and brown dirt.

Am I one more figment? A fragment meant to make sense of a pigment?

Imaginary not primary.

A concept that finds shape on a made-up moniker.

But the sun shines down on my brown face.

It can see me. I can too.

Brown exists because of light and dark.

It exists because we have said it must.

inspirational

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    SQWritten by Sudipta Quabili

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.