Poets logo

The Box

When life knocks

By Nora DavisPublished 2 months ago Updated about a month ago 1 min read
1
The Box
Photo by Ferdinand Stöhr on Unsplash

The Box

My box is where I choose to live

What I believe, what I forgive.

Whom I love and what I hate,

What decides my ultimate fate.

But what if I ventured from my box to see,

What other boxes there might be?

And ever so gently looked inside,

Deferred my judgment, released my pride?

And what if I liked the pitch and tilt

Of another box, thoughtfully built?

And planting my tent beside the other

What wondrous foreign thoughts, discover.

I think it’s hard not to have a box

We like our sides and tops and locks.

It’s safe, it’s home, it’s what we know,

Until one day, we decide to grow.

I’ll trade my box for an open basket

Lest the top and sides become my casket.

I’d rather view the open sky

Than live a narrow, biased life.

Nora Davis

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Nora Davis

I hope the fables and poems speak to you in a personal way and the family stories bring back special moments from your own tribe.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Nora Davis (Author)about a month ago

    Culture, tradition and religion will sometimes place us in specific mindsets. We can choose another way, another viewpoint. The sky won't fall.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.