Poets logo

The Bottom of the Bottle

This poem is about having a drinking problem.

By Amanda ZylstraPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

I'm at the bottom of the bottle.

Lipstick smudges on my forehead.

Bruises on my shoulder.

Everything spins.

Like a quarter on a pool table.

Like a penny in a homeless man’s cup.

The world is spilling around me.

I don’t know how to make it stop.

All the faces and days blend together.

I see vodka.

I see wine.

I see my cup filling itself up for me.

I am at the bottom of the bottle again.

I am binge drinking again.

I am blurring away my reality with booze.

There are people to meet,

And conversations to be had.

It’s all in a drunken blur.

I am numb to everything around me.

I don’t feel anything anymore,

And I like it this way.

Life is one big party when you are in your early 20s.

I wanted to be the life of that party.

I drank because I could.

I drank to drown the demons.

I’m now laying in a bathtub.

I remember those ceiling tiles from my youth.

Small pale blue squares.

I feel half dead.

I am numb to the things around me.

There is blood under the water.

A quiet surreal feeling.

Then a light bulb suddenly breaks,

Shattering my reality.

Making me realize I have an addiction.

This poem is featured in the poetry collection "Passing Skeletons".

Available now on Amazon!

Check out my Author Page on Facebook!

Check out my Poetry!

Check out my Music Articles!

Check out my Beauty Articles!

Check out my Makeup Articles!

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Amanda Zylstra

Cat Lover, Poetry Writer, Tea Drinker, Skincare and Beauty Product Obsessed. Check out my poetry collection "Passing Skeletons" available on Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.