Poets logo

The Book and Its Cover

I wrote this at about age 18 or 19.

By Korreain JohnsonPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
3
The Book and Its Cover
Photo by Suad Kamardeen on Unsplash

"Never judge a book by its cover!"

That's what the grown people say,

But that's not the moral

I hear day to day.

See the magazines, the videos,

The stuff on TV,

Don't care a bit

About what's inside of me

They say I should be sexy,

Cuter, Taller,

Wear lots of makeup,

And be three sizes smaller.

They say, "It's hip to be voluptuous,

Curvy, and thick,

But tomorrow they'll say

I should be slim as a stick.

They say, "It's awful to be pale

And great to be tan,

But light skinned girls are fine

And dark girls can't get a man."

They say, "No one likes a girl

Who's nasty and easy"

But they seem to love the girls

Who always dress sleazy.

They say, "If you've got it, flaunt it"

But most young girls dont have it;

And those who do feel obligated

To let some fool grab it.

But no, that's not me,

I'm not the one.

I didn't wake up this morning

Just to impress your son.

See, there's more to me than long hair

And a glare in the eyes,

A tiny waist,

And thick, round thighs.

There's strength in me

And a very sound mind,

And that's more important

Than having Beyonce's behind.

So they don't have to say I'm pretty,

And I don't have to be a flirt,

And I sho' don't have to walk around

In some tight mini skirt.

I know that I'm beautiful,

Just for being who I am,

Without hearing it from

Tyrone or TJ or Sam.

So don't judge this book by its cover;

There's volumes inside.

My physique and my figure,

Won't be my source of pride.

slam poetry
3

About the Creator

Korreain Johnson

I'm a Christian wife and mother of three who homeschools. Although I often seem very cookie cutter and traditional in many ways, my creativity allows me to express a side of me that doesn't have to be bothered with perfection and judgment.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.