Poets logo

The Bones Are Good

Though My House Is Falling

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 14 days ago 1 min read
The Bones Are Good
Photo by Andrew Ridley on Unsplash

Made my way out, late on a Friday

my friends all say, they think it's time

A local bar, a private party

ice cold patron and a couple limes

Nobody told me you were invited

no-one mentioned, so imagine the surprise

To see you with that girl, wearing my diamond

and the dreams that you promised to me, in her eyes

*

Now my heart aches to the bone

So, I force a smile, as you walk my way

I say, I'm happy for you, tho' I was just headin home

while every inch of me is beggin me to stay

*

The first time that I met you

the colors seemed to change

I saw myself in a different view

my whole world rearranged

But too good to be true, was the definition of our love

you moved on, leaving me to wonder why

Tonight, hopes ended, with the brush

of goodbye

*

Now my heart aches to the bone

I force a smile as you walk away

I say, I'm happy with me, as I go home alone

while every inch of me longs to be okay

Song Lyricssurreal poetrysad poetrylove poemsheartbreak

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Harbor Benassa6 days ago

    I love your voice in this piece! Reminiscent of Carrie Underwood.

  • Gosh, I've been in that situation before and it's devastating! Loved your poem!

  • John Cox13 days ago

    Absolutely heartbreaking, Kelli! I guess we’re never quite as strong as we need to be. Absolutely love the refrain, Now my heart aches to the bone.

  • D.K. Shepard13 days ago

    A brutal encounter! This was heavy with heartache! Well done, Kelli.

  • Mark Graham14 days ago

    Ahh, the ups and downs of romance and relationships. Nicely done.

  • Sad words beautifully expressed

Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenWritten by Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.