Poets logo

The Blackest Soul

- A memoir

By Trish GaudoinPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
The Blackest Soul
Photo by Amy Shamblen on Unsplash

My hair is blonde and shiny

My teeth are pearly white

My eyes are blue like cobalt

But my soul is black as night

*

I hide under the mask of beauty

For what you cannot see

Is pain pushed down for far too long

it nearly devours me

*

If you think you have me sorted

If you think I have a lot

I would agree and hate myself

for not loving what I got

*

You see shame can have so many faces and I have tried them all

I’ve eaten, drank, and smoked enough to know I had to fall

*

I’ve had to fall so many times and pick myself up again

I never knew it was shame that caused the darkness to set in

*

But what caused the change that made me see the forest through the trees?

It was COVID brain and discontent and a better life to seize

*

Because despite all the bad that illness caused at least we all were shown

Just who we love and what we want is to never to feel alone

*

But if you hate yourself, your soul is dark and never could be duller,

all the beauty, love, or company can’t bring you life in color.

*

@Trishg8089 Instagram

Trishgaudoin.com

(831)236-9599

[email protected]

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Trish Gaudoin

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.