Poets logo

the black cat

can you hear me?

By Penelope JanePublished 6 months ago Updated 3 months ago 2 min read
Top Story - December 2023
25
Photo by Akin Cakiner on Unsplash

I dream the same dream. In different places, and different stories, you always come.

And when you do, I crumble.

But the beginning is always the same

him and i are together

And my heart doesn't feel broken

The darkness no longer follows me

Save for the cat

Fur as dark as an Arctic night,

Eyes as green as the jungle,

The cat always crosses the road in front of me

Bringing the darkness with it

And I know you will be there soon

It is already too late to say goodbye

My heart has taken over and starts to run

I cannot catch her, I cannot make her stop

She runs for her life, faster than the winds in winter

Because she wants to live

When she is gone you come

In a cloud of smoke, the reaper by your side

Hair as smooth as silk

Eyes as blue as the ocean

I want so badly to see you walk away

You never do, even when you are nothing more than a shadow or a whisper

I want to be the mountain but instead I am the water

I fold around my obstacles, I do not make them fold

And you are the mountain, the one I cannot climb

So you do not walk away, you stay, and I fold

I wake

And the black cat lays in my bed, guarding me from you

So I can fall into the dark and dream another dream

Tonight you are not a whisper or a shadow

You are the light casting the shadows

You are a siren's call, piercing my ears until they bleed

And I cannot wake

So I follow my heart to where we ought not go

Until the water fills us both, taking my breath away

How can I love you, the monster from my nightmares?

How can I want so badly to drown as long as you are there?

And I know you will be there, because you stay

Can you hear me? From the depths?

Can you hear me tell you that I understand

Can you hear me tell you that I am tired of the darkness

I want to love you, and for you to love me back

And as I fall to the bottom

You come

You pull me to the shore where the black cat waits

I know it is spite that has made you do such a thing

But maybe there is no spite without love

Maybe you too, want to love me, and for me to love you back

Mountains without rivers are desolate

And water without land is a graveyard

So love me back

sad poetrysurreal poetrylove poemsheartbreakCONTENT WARNING
25

About the Creator

Penelope Jane

come to the dark side with me

Reader insights

Good effort

You have potential. Keep practicing and don’t give up!

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • 𝐑𝐌 𝐒𝐭𝐨𝐜𝐤𝐭𝐨𝐧3 months ago

    This is incredibly well done. The reader gets a real sense of the dreamlike setting. This is a very well-deserved Top Story!

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    "you stay, and I fold" - so many favourite lines, but this one punches hardest for me 👏

  • Ghulam Fayyaz5 months ago

    Eyes as blue as the ocean oh love the cat badly

  • this was so well done. Congrats on your top story

  • Daphsam5 months ago

    Very powerful words! Well done!

  • Отлично история. Можно еще взять идеи с сайта: https://dog-house-multihold.ru/

  • Nice job, very well written!

  • Echo Lee5 months ago

    i am so impressed; that my mountain dew almost exploded, onto my screen of life. My favorite line of yours is such ; " So I follow my heart to where we ought not go."

  • JBaz5 months ago

    Congratulations, so glad this received a top story

  • Tressa Rose5 months ago

    Beautifully done!

  • JBaz6 months ago

    And water without land is a graveyard Now that is perfect. This is beautifully done

  • Mountains without rivers are desolate And water without land is a graveyard These two lines were so deep! Loved your poem!

  • Mother Combs6 months ago

    💙

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.