Poets logo

The Bed

a perfect piece

By Traci E. Published 5 months ago 1 min read
1
The Bed
Photo by Rue S on Unsplash

I walked into the room, stood

and admired the beauty.

The white satin shimmered

In the sunlight from the window.

The pillow was fluffy and soft

As the clouds drifting by.

The satin sheeting lay smooth

As if freshly pressed.

I wanted to touch it

But didn’t dare.

I wouldn’t want to

Mar the perfection.

The wood surrounding

was polished with care.

Not a single smudge

Could be seen anywhere.

The lines of the wood

Showed true craftsmanship.

Again I admired the beauty

As I stood there before it.

This was truly made

By caring hands.

I stepped back and nodded

To the man nearby.

He stepped forward

And closed the coffin lid.

My mother was in

Her final bed.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Traci E.

Writing can be therapy, insanity or both. Here is my mind, my dreams, my fears, my thoughts, my life laid bare to share with you. Enjoy the journey into what is at once my blog, diary and world, and don't forget to tip your guide.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    Omggg, that ending hit me so hard! Gosh I never saw it coming!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.