Poets logo

The beauty of broken light

How people showing off their uniquely mezmerizing colors enriched my world... :)

By S. Gabriela Heitzinger Published 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
8
The beauty of broken light
Photo by Tony Ross on Unsplash

This or that?

Choose your tag!

This is wrong, this is right.

Pick a side!

In black and white;

you carelessly divide.

Why can´t you see;

the beauty of label-less diversity?

Nineteen-fifty-three;

you see colors on TV.

What about reality?

"No, thank you. Normality is key"

In black and white;

you carelessly divide.

Why can´t you see;

the beauty of extraordinary diversity?

"Fight for THEM? I´M already free.

Besides, THEY wouldn´t do it for ME."

Never once did I hear THEM say:

No, YOU are not okay. Please go away.

In black and white;

you carelessly divide.

Why can´t you see;

the beauty of uplifting diversity?

Refracted, scattered and reflected;

bent, broken and redirected;

common, unexceptional white light disconnected;

a ray of mesmerizing color beautifully projected.

Perfectly imperfect we let OUR colors shine;

YOUR privileged contempt won´t be the bottom line.

Open your eyes and see;

the broken beauty that is OUR proud diversity!

At first slowly, hesitant and shy;

then steadily but determinedly across the sky.

Longingly watches my damp eye;

the red light of dawn intensify.

Lucky am I who got in my sight;

the beauty of broken light!

Next to the Mediterranean Sea;

orange fruits temptingly hanging from a tree;

asking to be seen, to be smelled by me.

Breathtaking flowers - sweet oranges to be.

Lucky am I who got in my sight;

the beauty of broken light!

The simple pleasure and peace;

a mere dandelion field natures masterpiece.

Craving bright, shining yellow flowers like these;

I will never willingly cease.

Lucky am I who got in my sight;

the beauty of broken light!

Soft green gras gently brushing against my feet.

The color of hope they say on the street.

The smell of fresh pines so sweet;

like every years old, new Christmas treat.

Lucky am I who got in my sight;

the beauty of broken light!

Heavenly bright blue so deep;

covered by clouds like the sheep;

the all-powerful gods keep.

Below, calm and serene I fall asleep.

Lucky am I who got in my sight;

the beauty of broken light!

Between old rocks amethysts start to show.

Mysteriously and secretive little violets grow;

while I listen to Prince´s "Purple Rain" on my radio.

These magical vibes I never want to let go.

Lay off why and what you divide;

and feel the wave of joy when they collide.

Lucky are WE who got in OUR sight;

the beauty of colorful broken light!

slam poetry
8

About the Creator

S. Gabriela Heitzinger

I'm a filmmaker from Vienna who loves to do literally anything artsy. From drawing and painting to music to arts and crafts to screenwriting to... I also love to write:) AND read ;) thanks for stopping by <3

Insta: @gabshxtshow

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Sasha Mirrors2 years ago

    very beautiful piece of art here.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.