Poets logo

The Bear

What is seen

By Cathryn DennisonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

It comes through the trees

Towering over branches and leaves

Its footsteps being so quiet

Because its life is oh so private

It comes through the trees

Looking, searching for me

But it’s not really me it searches for

But a memory, no something more

It comes through the trees

Thinking it sees what it wants

It comes to me, asking me to follow

But I don’t feel like myself

I almost feel hollow

It tells me it’s alright

There’s no reason to fear

There’s no reason to hide

It knows who I am

It can feel the connection inside

It tells me it’s alright

It will bring me home

Away from the cold, tears, and pain

I won’t ever be alone

It tells me to come

It wants to keep me safe

Away from those, I cannot trust

So that I won’t be a waif

And so, I do

Not because it is strong or large or fierce

Not because it has more power than I

But because it trusts and cares for me

The way that family should be

And that alone makes me cry

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.