Poets logo

The Battle Within

A Letter From the Frontlines

By Bradley RamseyPublished about a year ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
3
The Battle Within
Photo by Nikhil Mistry on Unsplash

My dearest love,

I write to you from the edge of eternity

This battle feels endless as it rages on,

I fear I will not make it until dawn.

*

I left your side to fulfill my duty,

Turned my weapons within,

Faced the darkness inside,

Letting go of the urge to hide.

*

Stardust and galaxies separate us now,

I go to a place no one else can follow,

Deeper and deeper into my soul I dive,

Facing the abyss so that we may thrive.

*

I grip my weapon tight, explosions light the sky,

Bullets and shells, crafted from trauma and pain,

Familiar memories, sent in painful volleys

A stark reminder of all my past follies.

*

For too long, I have let you suffer,

Healing my self-inflicted wounds,

The enemy in my sights wears my face,

I will not let it take another shred of your grace.

*

I will rise above the bloodstained ground,

Passing the corpses of who I was before,

Burying them deep, but carrying their scars,

The future is not theirs, it is ours.

*

To battle I go as the sun breaks anew,

One last fight for the sake of it all,

No more attrition, this ends today,

I will no longer simply hold it at bay.

*

Remember me when I’m gone,

I’ve loved you from the beginning

If I do not survive this fight,

Know that I fought with all my might.

*

This is not goodbye, we will meet again,

I send this letter with a steady hand,

If this is my end, I do not fear it,

With all my love, your kindred spirit.

surreal poetrylove poems
3

About the Creator

Bradley Ramsey

Lover of dogs, gaming, and long walks on the beach. Content Marketing Manager by day, aspiring writer by night. Long time ghostwriter, finally stepping into the light. Alone, we cannot change this world, but we can create better ones.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.