Poets logo

The Basement

I’m so helpless

By Anna TorresPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Basement
Photo by Grant Durr on Unsplash

My senses are hijacked. I hold my breath but can’t pass out. What can I do to untie my hands? How many times must we do this again?

We have our secrets we have buried. We have our regrets we can’t justify. My heartbeat is erratic. What did I do to deserve this?

My mouth is deceased. Delicate and filthy. Bound and gagged in a cage. My eyes are not trustworthy.

I don’t wanna die. I don’t wanna be sewn without stitches. He takes my fingers, one by one. I have become his prize.

He locks me up by day. He tortures me by night. An eye for an eye. My teeth are no longer mine.

Restraints are choking me. The stench is unbearable. Am I good enough for you? A throne fit for a serial killer.

His lasting legacy. I can’t compete with the ones before me. I won’t live to see the ones after me. This devotion will never die.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Anna Torres

I’m a 37-year old mother. I love reading, metal music, and writing. I have begun writing again since 2021

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.