Poets logo

The Audacity

how do I put what I feel into words

By Simara AskewPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

i really can't believe you,

the audacity

to treat me like some left over lunch

you forgot about & ended up throwing away in the trash

- but it was good though ☝🏾

satisfying.

there when you needed it and left when you didn't

carefully discarded in a place where clearly

no one is looking for anything left over.

the audacity

to treat me as if i wasn't everything you ever wanted, at some point

the point where you decided to place me above the highest position at the

very top of the list

until i got moved down lower and lower and lower until i was eventually

in a place i no longer recognized

but would come to know as my new home.

the place i knew i never belonged yet seemed to end up anyway

the bottom of your heart that fell from the top

and can't seem to love its way back up.

no longer welcomed where i used to live

the audacity

picking up in a new home

sort of like a group home

but when i look around its just me

still at the bottom reaching for the top of the mountain that's my home

in the heart that is my own.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Simara Askew

Hi ! Thankful for the opportunity to express myself and connect, thankful for this space.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.