Poets logo

the art of getting by

i guess it’s true, i loved you.

By g.m.t Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

i can’t lie it feels good when he touches me,

sometimes it’s even comforting

some sick part of me

is still wishing it were you

and when the sky turns a darker blue,

some weak part of me

still needs to cry over you

i wonder if it will ever go away

how many more moons will i still have to sit through

and keep that compulsion at bay

when will the world stop reminding me

i thought i could make you happy

if i’m being honest-

it was unfair of me-

to think you could make me happy

to use you in that way

i swear to god i never meant to

it wasn’t the time or place

but i went ahead of myself

happy to finally have gotten a taste

now look where the hedon in me has me landed

and you saw through all that

didn’t you?

i don’t blame you

i would’ve left me too

stranded

it’s what i deserve

that’s why i knew it would come

but god why did it have to take you so long

to work up the nerve

i told you when i stopped asking

that’s when it would become unfair of you to run

i can’t lie to you

so i guess it’s true

there’s no future for us in clear view

but if you were to ever come back to me

i’d have words for you untill my face turned blue

-g.m.t.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

g.m.t

bare bones,

here are rests the things ive wrote,

to purge, to mend whats broke.

read, or dont. <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.