Poets logo

The aria on top of the building

being on top feels too little

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
The aria on top of the building
Photo by Brandon ong on Unsplash

I always climb to the top of everything

I climb to the top of mountains, hills

If I was born an ant,

I would climb my ant hill and live there,

and look down at everyone bringing in stuff

and I would be happy

just being at the top, but

I know I would still feel little

like when I climb the top of buildings,

I feel breathless, little and scared

I always climb, everything

But in the end

I feel like it scaled me, and I was overwhelmed

When I was little, I would climb the cabinets,

the fridge, the bins,

I would climb the swing-set at recess,

I would climb the fence and the trees---

I climb everything,

But the one thing I couldn't get over to the top

was being near another person

I couldn't climb over them

I couldn't get over that wall

no matter what I did

But I still climbed

I climb everything

Everything but you.

One time,

I climbed too high

on top of the highest tower in my city,

and I was stuck

I felt too tiny again, being way above everyone and

everything

Breathless and mortal.

I thought of how to climb again,

to reach you,

and I sang

"Che gelida manina"

I am a woman, but my voice is a tenor

I sang it out like a mournful cry &

my cold little hand felt it too,

and I knew someone finally got over my wall,

and found me

at the top of the building

Finally,

La bohème led me to you

and the little wall we climbed over,

sang our aria

of being tall

together

and never being too small again.

art

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Melissa IngoldsbyWritten by Melissa Ingoldsby

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.