Poets logo

The absence of color

Black

By Valérie RowePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
The absence of color
Photo by Charles Deluvio on Unsplash

I was black

The absence of color

I had no agenda

So I absorbed all the colors around me

The colors came and went

Painting me from their perspective

Red to sharpen my edges

Green to be accepted by my peers

Yellow to hide the darkness within

And little blue to soften the blow

Although they were all well meaning

These colors left me feeling confused

I became a distortion of my true self

Feeling more and more constricted

As the colors kept pilling on

Creating a messy shade of brown

Until one day I decided

That I would give up color

That I would let the shadow grow

And see what happens

The colors slowly left

Leaving me in complete darkness

This is where I first started

So I decided to keep going

After sitting in the darkness for a while

I noticed that I could feel

That without the distraction of all the colors

I could finally breathe

As I let myself breathe fully and deeply

I started feeling the space within

I felt myself expanding

And felt freedom for the first time

That's when I realized

I had spent my entire life chasing color

Just because I could

Little did I know

That the absence of color

Was all I needed

To step into infinity

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Valérie Rowe

A compassionate thought leader figuring things out one day at a time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.